Steven Finn  presents Katie Wolfe, one of the two girl winners. with the
Richard Davis award for seam bowling. She took 24 wickets in the Under 15s
and Under 19s



Results of MCA Indoor Finals 2017 - sponsored by Seaxe

Under 11  1st Stoke Newington A                                                     2nd Stanmore                                                                                  3rd Stoke Newington B         MVP  Shiv Galalya - Stanmore

Under 13  1st North Middlesex                                                            2nd Stoke Newington                                                                        3rd Stanmore                   MVP  Theo Bannister - Stoke Newington

Under 15  1st Stoke Newington                                                        2nd  North London                                                                           3rd Stanmore                      MVP  Toby Michaels  - Stanmore

Under 17   1st North Middlesex                                                      2nd Finchley                                                                                          3rd Stoke  Newington           MVP  Luke Hollman  - North  Middlesex NB - MVP is most valued player!!    

MVP - Most Valued Player                




The Seaxe young award winners, their families and friends, plus the Middlesex first eleven squad, coaching staff and Seaxe members attended the annual awards evening in the Father Time bar  at Lord’s after play on the opening day of the  county championship match against Essex on April 21st.,writes Alan Ashton.

As well as the various trophies for the young winners, which included two ladies for the first time, as outlined in the last issue of Seaxe News,  the player of the year, voted for by Seaxe members, Toby Roland-Jones, received his trophy  as did the second eleven player of the year, Ryan Higgins. Various bottles of champagne were presented to first eleven players for individual performances throughout last season; Roland-Jones received three – all for the one match against Yorkshire.  He received one bottle for his first innings 6-54, one for ten wickets in the match (4-73 in the second innings) and one for his hat-trick. Sam Robson received two bottles for his historic performances v Warwickshire the previous April. He made his highest first class score – 231 and then a century in the second innings. This gave him a Middlesex record total of runs in a match, 337 and he became the first Middlesex batsman to score a double century and a single century in one match. Nick Gubbins also received two bottles – maiden century against Somerset and then his first double class century against Lancashire. Steve Eskinazi received one bottle for his maiden century also against Lancashire in June.

Unfortunately Geoff Norris, recovering from an operation, was unable to attend to present his award to Thilan Walallawita, as most promising newcomer. Thilan played a leading role as a spin bowler for the Middlesex second eleven and for the under 19s, took 18 wickets at an average of 9.56.  For the second team, his best performance came in a one day game against Gloucestershire, 4-45 in his ten overs.

The Middlesex chairman, Mike O’Farrell, who is also the Seaxe chairman, hosting the proceedings, stressed the fact that Seaxe was not just a supporters club for the county side, but was aimed at helping all cricketers. Including disabled etc., throughout Middlesex. It was hoped that the promising young players of today would be Middlesex and even Test stars in the future.  He pointed out that Toby Roland-Jones had indeed won a batting trophy from Seaxe when he was ten years old!